Show full size 924Board.org
Discussion Forum of 924.org

FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 
 Technical FAQ924 FAQ (Technical)   Technical924 Technical Section   Jump to 924.org924.org   Jump to PCA 924 Registry924 Registry

CA Smog Woes. Fails for CO under load. Bad WUR?

View previous topic :: View next topic  
ThePhotographersGarage  

PostPosted: Wed Sep 01, 2021 4:52 pm    Post subject: CA Smog Woes. Fails for CO under load. Bad WUR? Reply with quote

Hello friends! So I'm fairly new to the CIS/931 game here, so bare with me for a bit, but I'm fighting to get my '82 931 to pass the strict smog test here in CA. I've had it at a local Porsche shop that has some time in it tuning it off the dyno (EG Off Boost/load) and while they can dial the CO adjustment in there just fine, it falls on it's face once loaded up on the smog Dyno. Blows about 2.3% CO at 15mph and 6.1% CO at 25mph. Both numbers should be just under %1. NOX and HCs are all great. New Lamba/02 sensor, cap/rotor/plugs and no dice. Seems to run pretty well over all, but I bought it w/o smog and haven't driven it blowing clean so not sure.

Current shop is a bit at a loss not being able to dyno tune it. All the local smog shops that have a tech worth their salt don't want to touch the car at any price, leaves me holding the bag.

Car has only seen about 1000 miles in the last 3 years or so, and while it seems pretty healthy, something clearly isn't quite right. I've got reciepts from a few owners ago and about 10k miles ago rebuilding the fuel dist, RR injectors with Bosch units, and other things. Also records of prior passed CA smog as recent as 2 years ago.